The short version: the World of Warcraft: Forever beta is planned to start on September 17, 2026. On September 12, it was not yet running. Blizzard's current pre-purchase announcement and Battle.net product page say the beta is available through October 21, 2026, PST. The official @Warcraft roadmap image says September 17 to October 22. Blizzard has not resolved that one-day conflict or published an opening or closing time.
Beta answer at a glance
| Question | Current answer | Status |
|---|---|---|
| When does the beta start? | September 17, 2026. The exact hour is not published. | Confirmed start; time not announced |
| When does the beta end? | October 21 in the current product and pre-purchase text. October 22 on the roadmap image. | Conflict |
| What can I play? | The roadmap says play up to level 30. It does not publish a beta roster. | Planned cap; roster not announced |
| Who has guaranteed access? | Skyborne Epic Pack, Warcraft Forever Collection, or physical World of Warcraft: Forever Collector's Edition. | Confirmed |
| Can I opt in? | Blizzard documents an optional signup route that does not guarantee access. A working Forever form was not verified. | Confirmed rule; unverified form |
| When does the full game open? | November 4, 2026 at 3:00 p.m. PST. | Confirmed |
| Do beta characters carry over? | No Forever-specific wipe, retention, or transfer rule was located in the checked sources. | Not announced |
Access and eligibility
Blizzard Support's World of Warcraft Alpha or Beta Access article lists three guaranteed routes:
- Skyborne Epic Pack
- Warcraft Forever Collection
- Physical World of Warcraft: Forever Collector's Edition
For a digital Epic Pack or Collection purchase, Support says Blizzard flags the purchasing account automatically. A physical Collector's Edition buyer receives a redeemable beta code by email at the address used for the Gear Store purchase. Support cannot grant beta access, replace a lost code, or help with a code redeemed on the wrong account. On September 13, 2026, the physical Collector's Edition was observed sold out on the Blizzard Gear Store; players seeking guaranteed beta access can pre-purchase the digital Skyborne Epic Pack or Warcraft Forever Collection on Battle.net.
| Purchase or account state | Beta result | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Skyborne Heroic Pack | Support's guaranteed-beta list does not include Heroic. The product page gives Heroic access to Skyborne and the Zephras Isle starting experience. | Not announced for Heroic |
| Skyborne Epic Pack | Guaranteed beta access. | Confirmed |
| Warcraft Forever Collection | Guaranteed beta access. | Confirmed |
| Physical Collector's Edition | Guaranteed beta access through the edition's redeemable code (observed sold out September 13, 2026). | Confirmed |
Skyborne and the Zephras Isle starting experience require the Skyborne Heroic Pack or higher. That product rule does not establish that Skyborne or Zephras Isle is enabled in the beta.
Signup, dates, and test scope
Support says signup does not guarantee beta access and that its form is available only while testing is active or shortly before it starts. The linked signup destination resolved to the Midnight page during the September 12 check. No working Forever signup form was verified, so this page does not present that link as a live application.
The current Blizzard text gives the beta window as September 17 through October 21, 2026, PST. The roadmap image gives September 17 through October 22 and says content and timing can change. Both are first-party statements. The checked sources do not give a precise beta start hour, shutdown hour, phase schedule, wave schedule, alpha date, or open and closed test labels. Blizzard has not labeled this an open beta in the checked material.
The roadmap's only specific beta-content statement found in the checked first-party material is "PLAY UP TO LEVEL 30". That is a planned test cap, not a live result and not a promise that every level-30 activity will be available. Blizzard has not published a beta list of zones, quests, classes, races, dungeons, raids, PvP systems, professions, or Camping features.
The broader Forever announcements are product context, not a beta inventory:
| Announced material | What the source establishes | Beta status |
|---|---|---|
| Skyborne from Zephras Isle, Dwarf Shaman, Forsaken Paladin, updated class design, honor and profession revamps, the Camping system, over 1,000 new quests, new or expanded zones, new dungeons, and max-level raids | These are named as Forever product content on the Battle.net page. | Beta availability not announced |
| Three new zones, nine new dungeons, and two new raids | These counts appear in Blizzard's Opening Ceremony recap. | Full-game announcement, not a beta roster |
| New dungeons, 10-player and 20-player raids, new or expanded zones, race and class combinations, and 1,000+ quests | These are launch feature bullets in the official @Warcraft feature post. | Planned product context, not beta confirmation |
| Barrow Deeps, Hyjal Summit, and Onyxia's Lair | The roadmap plans a December 9 raid unlock with 10-, 20-, and 40-player entries. | Planned after launch, not beta content |
| Hardcore, Spring 2027, and Summer 2027 updates | The roadmap places these in later milestone cards and says timing can change. | Planned future milestones, not beta content |
Launch access and separate benefits
The Battle.net product page says a WoW Subscription or Game Time grants access to Forever starting November 4. Epic and Collection include 30 days of Game Time, which Blizzard's Game Time support article says activate at launch under the listed edition rules. Play after that included period requires a subscription or additional Game Time. Blizzard does not say whether an active subscription is required for an account that already has a separate beta entitlement. Treat launch access and beta access as separate rules.
| Benefit | Rule | Status |
|---|---|---|
| WoW Subscription or Game Time | Grants Forever access at launch on November 4. | Confirmed launch rule |
| Invite-A-Friend code | Codes begin going to the registered email on October 20. They grant Forever access from November 4 through November 11, not beta access. Heroic provides one code; Epic and Collection provide three. | Confirmed launch-only benefit |
| Early Name Reservation | October 27 through November 3 for up to three characters on the purchasing WoW account. Names are first come, first served, with no guarantee that a desired name is available. | Planned |
The Invite-A-Friend support article says these codes do not grant Skyborne, the Zephras Isle starting experience, Game Time, or another WoW version. An account that already bought a Forever upgrade cannot redeem one. Physical Collector's Edition codes also provide three codes under the listed rules, while retail Collector's Editions in Korea, Australia, and New Zealand are excluded from this code program.
Early Name Reservation is launch preparation. It is not a character transfer and does not answer whether beta characters persist.
Install the beta client
For an account with beta access, Blizzard Support says the WoW Forever beta download becomes available for installation in the Battle.net App once testing begins. If it is missing, Support says to close and restart the app and confirm that the correct Battle.net account is signed in. The client may be offline at any time, and access can be revoked for Code of Conduct violations.
Support does not publish a beta preload date, pre-download window, build number, download size, standalone installer, or a more detailed menu path. Reports of an early download, a missing client, or a changed logo are community reports and do not establish a Blizzard deadline.
Platforms, regions, and hardware
The Battle.net product details list Windows and Mac. They list Americas & Oceania, Europe, Korea, and Taiwan as available regions and list these languages: English (US), Español (AL), Português (BR), English (EU), Deutsch, Español (EU), Français, Русский, 한국어, 繁體中文. The page does not state that every listed region or language has the same beta timing or access treatment.
The product page does not state console, Linux, mobile, cloud, or cross-play support. Those questions are Not announced in the checked sources, not a confirmed universal exclusion.
Blizzard publishes Windows and Mac minimum and recommended specifications and warns that they may change as programming changes. Use the WoW Forever system requirements reference for the full CPU, GPU, memory, storage, input, and resolution tables. The product page also requires an internet connection, a Battle.net account, and the Battle.net desktop app. Meeting those requirements does not grant beta access.
Characters, servers, and testing policies
In the Deep Dive Panel Recap and official @Warcraft announcement, Blizzard officially confirmed that WoW Forever adopts a Realmless architecture with four distinct rulesets: Normal (PvE), PvP, RP, and Hardcore. Players share a unified world with others on the same ruleset rather than being locked to traditional realm boundaries. Grouping for dungeons and raids is restricted to players within the same ruleset, factions remain separate, and dead Hardcore characters can join a new non-Hardcore ruleset. Furthermore, collections and the Legacy System are account-wide across rulesets (except Hardcore). Hardcore will be available post-launch.
Not announced in the checked Forever sources:
- whether beta characters are wiped, retained, copied, or converted at launch;
- character migration or transfer from Modern WoW, WoW Classic Era, WoW Classic Progression, or another account;
- beta character slots, realm limits, datacenters, queues, population limits, regional routing, or cross-region play;
- a Forever-specific NDA, streaming permission, recording policy, embargo, spoiler rule, feedback form, in-client report path, or feedback schedule.
The general Character Transfer Information and Restrictions article is not a Forever rule. Its product tabs name World of Warcraft, WoW Classic Era, and WoW Classic Progression. Forever is not named there.
The roadmap says features will evolve from player feedback. That statement does not identify a formal feedback channel. Blizzard Support points to the official beta forums for schedule updates and identifies that channel as English-only.
Community questions and reports
Community links below document questions or reactions, not game rules. Each was checked on September 12, 2026. Their original links and retrieval times remain in the source metadata.
| Discussion | What it shows | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Paid-edition beta discussion checked at 19:13:17Z | Questions about paid beta access, an active-subscription requirement, Invite-A-Friend codes, physical CE delivery, and carryover. Replies conflict. | Reported community context |
| Beta opt-in reminder checked at 19:02:11Z | Questions about signup, subscription requirements, and how invites are selected. | Reported community context |
| Physical Collector's Edition question checked at 20:24:57Z | A question about whether a physical edition needs a separate digital Collection purchase. Comments add no authoritative entitlement. | Reported community context |
| Client download discussion checked at 20:12:52Z | Anecdotal concern about an early download deadline and inconsistent client or logo behavior. | Unverified report |
| WoW Forever community questions checked at 19:10:19Z | Questions about Mac, console, transmog, carryover, the level cap, PvP, and other systems. The thread is not a direct developer feedback channel. | Reported questions |
| Base-game and monetization discussion checked at 22:07:51Z and Heroic-edition discussion checked at 21:16:16Z | Reaction to subscription access, paid beta access, Early Name Reservation, Skyborne, and future monetization. | Reported opinion, not policy |
| Beta date discussion checked at 23:02:12Z | Repeats September 17 to October 22 with uncertainty. | Unverified repetition, not a date source |
Completed checkpoints and upcoming schedule
On Sunday, September 13, 2026, Blizzard held the World of Warcraft: Forever - Deep Dive at 10:00 a.m. PDT. Due to technical difficulties, the live panel was broadcast on the main @Blizzard stream (stream notice and schedule update). Following the panel, Blizzard published the official Deep Dive Panel Recap, with developers confirming that the beta arrives this Thursday (September 17, 2026).
The live developer Q&A remains scheduled for September 17 at 10:00 a.m. PDT on the official Warcraft Twitch and YouTube channels, with a VOD afterward.
WoW Forever beta FAQ
What is the WoW Forever beta start date?
Blizzard Support and the pre-purchase text schedule the beta to start on September 17, 2026, confirmed during the Deep Dive panel as arriving Thursday. Their current text gives an end date of October 21, 2026, PST. The official roadmap image instead says October 22, so the beta dates still contain an unresolved first-party conflict.
How do I get a WoW Forever beta key or access code?
The guaranteed access routes are the Skyborne Epic Pack, Warcraft Forever Collection, and physical World of Warcraft: Forever Collector's Edition. Digital purchases flag the purchasing account automatically. A physical Collector's Edition uses an emailed redeemable code, though the physical edition was observed sold out on the Blizzard Gear Store on September 13, 2026. Optional signup does not guarantee access, and a working Forever signup form was not verified in the linked destination.
Is there a WoW Forever beta signup or open beta?
Blizzard Support documents an optional signup route for when testing is active or about to start, but it does not promise an invitation. The checked sources do not call the test an open beta, publish an alpha date, or provide a phase or wave schedule. The linked destination resolved to the Midnight page during the September 12 check, so treat it as an unverified route rather than a live Forever application.
Where do I download the WoW Forever beta client?
If the account has access, Blizzard says the beta client appears in the Battle.net App once testing begins. Restart the app and check that the correct Battle.net account is signed in if the client is missing. Blizzard has not published a beta preload date, build number, download size, or standalone installer.
What are the WoW Forever system requirements?
Blizzard publishes separate Windows and Mac minimum and recommended specifications. Read the WoW Forever system requirements reference for the full tables and the ambiguity in the Mac video rows. Hardware readiness and beta entitlement are separate checks.
Will WoW Forever beta characters be wiped or transferred?
No Forever-specific wipe, retention, character-copy, migration, or transfer policy was located in the checked sources. An official WarcraftTeam reply reported through Reddit describes the servers as fresh. That statement does not establish what happens to beta characters or progression.
Status labels
- Confirmed: directly stated by a checked first-party source.
- Planned: a future roadmap item or scheduled event. Planned does not mean live.
- Reported: a source records a question, reaction, or attributed statement. It is not automatically a game rule.
- Unverified: no first-party confirmation was located for the report or observation.
- Not announced: the bounded source check did not locate a Forever-specific policy. It is not proof that Blizzard will never publish one.
- Conflict: checked sources disagree. Both versions stay visible until Blizzard resolves the difference.
